top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Rowe

The good things that mental illness has given me

I feel like when people think about mental illness, they typically think about the negative components and struggles that come with it. I used to be this way too, and some days I do dwell on the difficulties that come with being Bipolar. However, through my blogging and self reflection I have come to realise that Bipolar has also given me some amazing things in my life. I have come to terms with my disorder, and I have really reflected on some of the positives it has given me. I am currently in remission and am not experiencing any negative symptoms, but I would not take back my previous struggles. I would like to share these reasons that I am grateful for my experiences with bipolar disorder.


1) Bipolar Disorder has made me empathetic and relatable


Through sharing my journey with Bipolar disorder, I have met many amazing people. Often people will reach out to me and tell me about their struggles with mental illness. I can use my experiences in order to be understanding and relatable. I feel as though I have more knowledge on mental illness at this point, than any text book could ever teach me.


I truly understand that people have bad days and through this I have become extremely empathetic. I can relate to the struggles that others are going through, and I am much more aware of the way that those around me are feeling. Even in my work, I am able to be more caring and patient with different people and situations. I used to become easily frustrated with people, or some would say that at times I was quite cold. I am so much more mindful of those around me, and I believe that I am an extremely relatable person at this point.


2) Bipolar Disorder has sparked my creativity


People often ask me if I have been writing my entire life after they read some of my blogs. The truth is that I used to hate writing. English was my least favourite subject in school, and I never went out of my way to write. I have never been an overly creative person and for school assignments I often struggled to meet a simply 500-word requirement.


This has greatly changed in the last year as I have become an avid writer. Bipolar disorder has sparked my creativity and a passion for writing that I truly never thought I would have. I love writing about my journey with mental illness, and the words just flow. I have so many different ideas about topics for the future, and I am exploring a side of myself that I never knew. I am even considering the possibility of writing a novel at this point, so who knows that the future holds for me with regards to me creative side.


3) Mental illness has strengthened my most important relationships


At many times in my life I have been extremely ill and have had to be comfortable with asking friends and family for help. Through my experiences with Bipolar and associated illness, my valued relationships have flourished. I have become much closer to my family and my closest friends. We have all been through so much together and from this we have created bonds that will last a lifetime. I am thankful that I know who will stand by me through my darkest hours, and that my fake friends have left. I know that I am surrounded by real individuals who truly love me. This is a great feeling.


4) I aspire to help change the healthcare system


Like many individuals, I have fallen through the cracks in the mental healthcare system. I have lacked treatments that were necessary, and it is only because of my amazing parents advocating for me that I have survived these moments. Through seeing the dark underbelly of this system, I now have a new appreciation for what must be done in order to promote change.


In the future I aspire to be a physician and potentially a politician one day. I hope that I am able to contribute to society greatly and help the mental healthcare system evolve and move forward. As someone who has firsthand experience I feel as though I hold knowledge that many others do not ever get. My experiences have ignited a fire in me to fight for change and help the marginalized populations find the supports and resources they require.

bottom of page