top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Rowe

How working in homelessness has changed my life:

I was 18 when I experienced my first full-blown manic episode. I was extremely ill at this time and I had to take a leave from both school and work. My symptoms consumed me and made it very much impossible to function in society. I was unable to complete the normal responsibilities of the average 18-year-old. My world was in ruins and I was losing everything, or so it seemed.


At the time, I felt as though my life was a series of unfortunate events. Looking back however, I can now see just how fortunate I was. I was surrounded by the most supportive group of family and friends, who took care of me and ensured that I got the best treatment available. I did not have to navigate the mental healthcare system alone, and I never had to worry about bills piling up when I was too ill to work. I was sick, but I still had a place to lay my head every night; I was fed the most nutritious food that my family could find, and I was advocated for every single day. I now understand that so many people who experience mental illness much like myself, have not had the same experience that I was so lucky to have.


I have spent the last four months working with the homeless population, and this is how it has changed my life:


Mental illness is much more prominent in the homeless population than the general population. It is estimated that between 30-35% of homeless individuals, and as many as 75% of women who are homeless, experience mental illness. Between 20-25% of homeless individuals suffer from severe mental illness, compared to 6% of the non-homeless. These statistics are startling, yet even someone like me who is so well-versed in mental illness may go on with life being completely oblivious to this.


In January of 2019, I began work in a homeless shelter. I would work towards creating primary care and harm reduction services for the homeless population in my city. I went into this job expecting it to be a great opportunity for growth, I however was wrong; this experience would turn out to be a life-changing opportunity.


I began my work with a very open-mind, as I do with everything, and yet I must admit that a part of me was nervous. My first week was very intimidating, as most individuals were quite cold towards me. I would attempt to interact with people, and they would have none of it. I can look back on this now and understand that these reactions were a result of the poor treatment that these individuals receive every single day from much of the general population. After my first week I had almost regretted choosing this job, but I stuck with it, and I am so happy that I did.


The past four months have been extremely eye-opening. I now have relationships with many individuals in the shelter that will inspire me for the remainder of my life. The people have sparked something in me and will be the reason that I pursue work which allows me to advocate for the marginalized. I have met so many amazing souls, with the most inspiring stories.


Most of the people who I have encountered have been genuine and extremely kind. Many of the homeless individuals who I have built a relationship with do experience mental illness and have become homeless as a result. These individuals had a life before homelessness; a job, a family, a purpose. They all have a different story, and I can promise you that they do not want to be homeless. These are the cards that these individuals have been dealt, and they are indeed working towards bettering themselves; but they need assistance to do so.


If society continues to ignore the epidemic that is homelessness, we will be doing a disservice to humanity and contributing to a problem that is bigger than any of us. Homeless individuals are people just like me and you. They have hopes and dreams and things that they are passionate about. Many of these individuals have so much potential and are beyond talented in different areas of life.


Next time that you see a homeless individual on the streets, I challenge you to take two seconds of your time and say hello. I can promise that if you were to sit down with this person for even 5 minutes you would most likely learn more about life than you have in a long time. We all have our own struggles, I know I certainly do, and so who are we to judge anyone for theirs?

bottom of page